“Go in peace and be cured of your affliction.”

Happy Lord’s Day to you. 2 awesome stories from today’s Gospel of Mark. One tells of a prominent Jew name Jairus who asks Jesus to come and heal his very sick daughter. Jesus agrees but on the way, the little girl dies. Jesus goes anyway and raises the little girl from the dead. Just to finish, He tells those there to get her something to eat! Always looking out for our needs.

The story though that I want to share is the woman with hemorrhages. She had spent all her money to get healed and nothing work. In those days, women who were bleeding were considered unclean and were forbidden to touch anyone. She thought that if she could just touch the cloak of Jesus, she would be cured. Number 1 point for me, is that my prayer or my desires that I bring to Jesus must be grounded in faith that if Jesus wants to, He will do it.

She does touch His cloak and is healed. Jesus was aware that power went out from Him and asked who touched Him? No pun here but the woman had to come clean with Jesus and tell Him the story. That’s when Jesus tells her, “Daughter, your faith has saved you. Go in peace and be cured of your affliction.”

What stirred in me reading this was music. Somehow, music can heal me in so many ways. I do not listen much to music anymore but I still play a lot. Sitting at the piano and just pounding out tunes and singing puts me in such great moods. This gift of music from God has gone through many phases. I started out wanting to be a star. I practiced and got better and had some 15 minutes of fame. I had a superior attitude and through the years have been knocked off my high horse. Now I play for God’s glory and the blessings are abundant. Thanks be to God!

“Go in peace and be cured of your affliction.”

Leave a Reply

