Peter And Paul

From what I have come to understand about these 2 great Saints, I am a big fan of St. Peter and St. Paul. In some of Peter’s story in the Gospel’s and other letters of scripture, I can relate. Denying Jesus I can relate very well to as well as being extremely sorrowful for my sins. St. Paul is different for me. He had such great knowledge and passion for His Jewish faith that he would go to the extreme of persecuting and even killing Christians because they were challenging the laws he passionately believed in. I still feel like I am in the infant stages of my faith and though I feel very passionate about it, I am still somewhat reserved in what I share. Maybe my concept of loving the Lord with all my heart, soul, mind and strength and loving my neighbor as myself is too calm. For me though, it seems right.

The story in Acts 12 today is one I have always liked. Peter is imprisoned “under the guard of four squads of four soldiers each.” I’m pretty sure they did not want him to escape and keep preaching that craziness of Jesus Christ. Next is a very powerful statement to me that I cannot let get past me. It says, “Peter thus was being kept in prison, but prayer by the Church was fervently being made to God on his behalf.” The power of the prayer of the Church, your prayers, my prayers and all prayers can have great benefits.

What did happen was an Angel of the Lord woke Peter up, “the chains fell from his wrists,” he was told to put on some clothes and sandals and to follow the Angel. The Angel took him right past the guards to an iron gate which opened by itself and led him to freedom. It got me to reflect a little about the power of prayer. My relationship with Jesus has grown much over the past years. I am sure I have been prayed for by the church, family, friends and even people I do not know. What an awesome gift I have been given. And I can happily say that this is one gift I can pay forward as I pray much for you reading this and all the people in my life in any way. I thank God for you! God bless you all!

Peter And Paul

Leave a Reply

