The Teachings Of Jesus

Jesus in today’s Gospel from Matthew 10:24-33 teaches His disciples some important lessons that are true for us today. I want to look at a few of the teachings.

“No disciple is above his teacher”

This one makes me think about parents and children along with teachers and students. Isn’t it amazing when children grow older they know more than their parents? And for you teachers out there, that your students think they can outsmart you?

“Nothing is concealed that will not be revealed, nor secret that will not be known. What I say to you in the darkness, speak in the light; what you hear whispered, proclaim on the housetops.”

I personally would have a difficult time with this one without the mercy I know my Savior Jesus has. If my darkness was proclaimed on rooftops, well, I’m not sure I could ever show my face again. I guess my answer would be to strive to stay in the light and avoid darkness.

“And do not be afraid of those who kill the body but cannot kill the soul; rather, be afraid of the one who can destroy both soul and body in Gehenna.”

I have mentioned before that some form of “do not be afraid” is said 365 times in the Bible. That would be one for every day. Walking with Jesus should help us to never be afraid. If we believe He has our back and this world is temporary, why fear? If we are going to live in fear, how about Holy fear of the Father, Son and Holy Spirit?

Lastly, the one I see most often quoted on Facebook but it also irks me somewhat because the one’s who post it always have some kind of ending tag that seems to threaten you if you do not share it, assuming you are too ashamed of Jesus to post it on your page! Nonsense!

“Everyone who acknowledges me before others I will acknowledge before my heavenly Father. But whoever denies me before others, I will deny before my heavenly Father.”

We can acknowledge Jesus in so many ways. It doesn’t have to be in writing blogs or posting on social media. I enjoy sharing my love for Jesus by writing. Sometimes, it hurts to write my pain of offending Jesus but it’s my way of sharing my life and love for our Lord. Glory be to the Father, Son and Holy Spirit. Amen.

The Teachings Of Jesus

Leave a Reply

