Be Welcoming!

This caught my attention today as one who likes to share the Gospel and scripture readings each day. Pope Francis in his homily today said, “Want to preach the Gospel Effectively? Be Welcoming!”

I was thinking what welcoming means to me. I was thinking kindness and smiling, listening and having compassion and actually caring about others and where they are at in their lives today. Then I was reading the Responsorial Psalm 85 today and it offered more thought for me…

Kindness and truth shall meet; justice and peace shall kiss.

There are a few things that I think we are all searching for. Some that come to mind are truth. I think we all want to know truth. What is the meaning of our lives? What is the purpose of our lives? Another is peace. When we are peaceful, everything seems right and even the wrongs of the world seem more tolerable. I think we hope to be peaceful not only in good times but in our struggles as well. Lastly, I think we are searching for God’s mercy and forgiveness. No matter how good we try to be, we are human and we are going to fall. When we do fall, I think we want to know that God understands how weak we are and that He picks us up and puts us back on the right path.

For anyone who likes to share, preach or attempt to make sense out of scripture like myself, our words are nothing if they are not welcoming and filled with kindness and compassion for others who are seeking the will of God. We are all in different places in our lives. There is only one truth and we are seeking it on different paths. 20 years ago, I am not sure I would have agreed with what I am saying today. My point would be that all of us can dialogue in a welcoming manner, accepting each other in love and continue seeking God’s truth.

Be Welcoming!

Leave a Reply

