Who Am I?

In reading the scripture passage today from Exodus 3:1-12, we gain the understanding that God hears the prayers of His people who are being oppressed by Pharaoh. So he summons Moses and tells him…

“Come, now! I will send you to Pharaoh to lead my people, the children of Israel, out of Egypt.”

Moses responds…

“Who am I that I should go to Pharaoh and lead the children of Israel out of Egypt?”

It immediately reminded me of a song by Casting Crowns that I love to sing and play called “Who Am I”. I have wrestled with that many times in my life. Who am I to do this or that? Am I capable? Maybe? Maybe not? Maybe someone else could do a better job? Yet, look at some of the simple Saints we have come to know and even the soon to be Saints like Blessed Mother Teresa. They did God’s will, what they were asked to do. Some things were simple and some were great. But the Saints, Moses and us have one important thing in common and God revealed it to Moses in His response…

“I will be with you”

We cannot go wrong if we truly have faith that God is with us! Be not afraid! Now, all I need to do is to act upon what I just said. It’s easier for me to sit back and pray while others do. It’s important for me especially to remember that faith without works is dead. I cannot earn my salvation but I must be open to receive and cooperate with God’s grace given to me. Thanks be to God!

Who Am I?

Leave a Reply

