COME

I was thinking about today’s Gospel from Matthew 14:22-36. The disciples are in a boat a few miles offshore. Think of that, a few miles. Their boat was being tossed by waves and they were afraid. They were even more afraid when Jesus was walking on the water toward them and they thought He was a ghost. Jesus tells them, “Take courage, it is I; do not be afraid” and Peter says, “Lord, if it is you, command me to come to you on the water.” Jesus says one word, “COME.”

We remember that Peter started walking on water but he became frightened and began to sink and Jesus had to save him. I was wondering how often Jesus tells me to “COME” and I am too frightened to change my old habits and continue to do things my way. Then when things get too rough, I cry out like Peter, “Lord, save me.”

Another reminder for me that not my will be done but your will dear Jesus. Amen.

COME

Leave a Reply

