My Flesh for the Life of the World

As my weekend comes to a close, I thank God for this beautiful Sunday. It was a very relaxing day centered around the Eucharist I received today at Mass. Today’s readings from 1 Kings 19:4-8 and the Gospel of John 6:41-51 have much in common.

Elijah is praying to die but an Angel of the Lord comes and orders him two times to eat so he will have strength for the journey as he would walk forty days and nights to the mountain of God. In the Gospel, Jesus tells us the He is the bread of life, the living bread that came down from heaven and whoever eats this bread will live forever. Then Jesus finishes by saying…

“and the bread that I will give is my flesh for the life of the world.”

and we as Catholics believe that the Eucharist is His flesh. And like Elijah, when we eat this bread, we gain strength for our journey to God which is eternal life.

I hope everyone had a great weekend and ready for a new week to bring Christ to wherever we go. Praise and Glory to God, the Father, Son and Holy Spirit, Amen!

My Flesh for the Life of the World

Leave a Reply

