Don’t Judge Me

Ok, I will not judge you. Easy for me to say. Someone passes by me with a sour expression and I think, “must be having a bad day.”  Oops, did I just judge? I am not sure we all understand what our Lord means when He tells us we are not to judge others. Today in the Gospel reading from Matthew 18:15-20, Jesus tells us this…

“If your brother sins against you, go and tell him his fault between you and him alone. If he listens to you, you have won over your brother.”

So if I know the Lord’s teaching through Holy Scripture and the Church and my brother or sister is committing a sin, I have the responsibility to go to him or her and talk about it. Am I judging? Jesus continues…

“If he does not listen, take one or two others along with you, so that every fact may be established on the testimony of two or three witnesses.”

Now, a sin could involve the intervention of more people. Again the question, are we judging? Jesus continues…

“If he refuses to listen to them, tell the Church. If he refuses to listen even to the Church, then treat him as you would a Gentile or a tax collector.”

Oh my, my church is pretty large! I think we get the point that sin separates us from God and we have a responsibility to do what we can, with the grace of God, to help each other bring to light a sin or sins that might cause us to lose our eternal salvation. By the standard of Jesus, we are not judging. The last part of treating them like a Gentile or a tax collector might just mean that we have to let it go and give it all to God. That would be sad.

So let me start by saying I’m the worst. I usually want peace at all cost so most often I keep my mouth shut. I often take the do not judge to the extreme because I used to make my point known forcefully and it caused a lot of friction in my life. When I read this passage, I am uncomfortable. I have been studying Scripture and the teachings of the church and with the gift of the Holy Spirit, I have a pretty good idea of right and wrong. Unfortunately for me, I have a lot of logs to take out of my eyes before I try to remove the splinter from anyone else.

I really though am not afraid to point out sin, mine or yours. The important point for me is that whatever I try to do, it must bring me and others closer to Jesus. I do not want to push people away from our most merciful God. Truth is important. Sharing the truth in love is a necessity. Sin offends our Lord greatly. I am a great sinner. My past is filled with horrific sin. I have hurt people I love deeply. I may have caused pain in the lives of others and am not aware. I have repented and still pick up my cross daily to follow Jesus. I still sin today and beg the Lord for mercy. Life is difficult and through this scripture passage, I think we owe it to ourselves and to God to do our best to get each other on the straight and narrow path to eternal life. Please, don’t judge me, just help me. God bless you all.

Don’t Judge Me

Leave a Reply

