The Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary

The_Assumption_of_the_Virgin_1612-17_Peter_Paul_Rubens

What a great day for all of us “Mama’s Boys” to celebrate. It’s the Solemnity of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary. Our Spiritual Mother Mary is assumed to heaven, body and soul, to be with her Son Jesus as Queen of Heaven and Earth.

I do not worship Mary. I love, venerate and honor her. Mary would have died with Jesus on the cross but Jesus gave her to us as He told the apostle John, “behold your mother” and to Mary, “behold your son.” Jesus permitted her to live so that she would strengthen the apostles and all the disciples of Jesus as a mother who knew her Son and the holy will of God.

Today in heaven, through the power of the Holy Spirit, she intercedes for us. Who better to offer our prayers to Jesus than His loving mother. Of course we can pray directly to Jesus and we do but how often do we ask each other to pray for us? When I “pray to Mary”, I am asking her to pray for me just like I would ask you to pray for me.

I love you Mother Mary! I will forever be a “Mama’s Boy” in your loving arms. I hope you are honored greatly today on the Solemnity of your Assumption. Please pray for us! Amen.

The Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary

One thought on “The Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary

Leave a Reply

