There Is No Duplicity In Him

On the Feast of Saint Bartholomew today, the Gospel from John 1:45-51 has an interesting story of Jesus and Nathanael who is actually the apostle Bartholomew. This passage brings to light something that I have been wrestling with recently…

Jesus saw Nathanael coming toward him and said of him, “Here is a true child of Israel. There is no duplicity in him.”

I have been trying to find ways to evangelize and have been using social media to try to share my faith. It is also a blessing to see others I have known as family, friends, classmates, former students and players I have coached along with social media friends I have never met personally but we enjoy many of the same things.

Social media is one way but probably not the best way for me to share my faith. It’s easier to write about my successes and failures with great honesty, praising and giving all the glory to God and leaving the hope for the reader to relate and draw closer to Jesus. The last thing I should be looking for is for the number of likes, thank yous, don’t be so hard on yourself comments and the “we are only human” consolations. I can hide behind my writing and say Jesus, I put it out there, now you do the rest.

Getting back to duplicity. As I scroll different posts, I come across great scripture passages, quotes, family pictures and many positive posts that I enjoy reading. Then in the same breath, on the same page as all the Godly jargon, comes the drunkenness, the parties, the cussing, the reactions to kill and torture those who have hurt others and so much more. Being Christ-like is not easy. I struggle with it everyday but I cannot help but think how much we offend our Lord to praise Him in one breath and be so sinful in the next. It hurts for me to see someone share how much they love Jesus and are so thankful for all God has done for them and then promote grave sin.

OK, my duplicity rant is over. It gives me more to pray about and to ask especially for the prayers of Saint Bartholomew to walk in the light of Christ on the straight and narrow path to eternal life. Thanks be to God.

There Is No Duplicity In Him

2 thoughts on “There Is No Duplicity In Him

  1. The title of your post is interesting because I’ve noticed a lot of what you described. That’s actually why the term Christ-like gets on my nerves. (It didn’t in your post) Because a lot of people who encourage you to be “Christ-like” make it sound like some easy, happy thing that won’t be too intrusive on the rest of your life. And that irks me because my experience has been the opposite, thank God.

    Like

    1. Thanks for the comment. I think I understand your point well. It is intrusive with every waking hour because I naturally think what is best for me not others. I have to be conscious of this all the time and honestly, by the world’s standards I think I do pretty well. But by what I believe God expects of me, I fall short.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

