Deep Water

Today at work, I felt like I was sinking big time in deep water. Wow, what a day of questions and problems. My head is above water though and I can’t help but want to somehow relate to today’s Gospel from Luke 5 about Jesus asking Peter and his crew to “Put out into deep water and lower your nets for a catch.”

I had a great talk with Jesus today and with the help of His grace, I was prepared for this tough day. Looking back, I spent most of the hectic day trying to handle things on my own. I rarely thought about asking for help from Jesus. I just suffered in my frustration and played the pity Mike routine with some of my coworkers.

Do you remember how Peter answered Jesus when He asked them to go deep? “Master, we have worked hard all night and have caught nothing, but at your command I will lower the nets.” That’s a pretty nice way of maybe saying, “Lord, I’m the professional fisherman here and I do not think you know what you are talking about but because it’s you, I will do it.” You know what happened, they caught so many fish that it filled two boats! How do you think Peter felt? I can relate a little as I want to share with my Lord the same response Peter did…

“Depart from me, Lord, for I am a sinful man.”

I am at a point in my life that I desire so much to please the Lord. I do not want to offend Him. I am sure Peter felt like that too and then He denied Him three times. I am no different. When my back is against the wall, I am capable of doing anything I am sad to say. I truly believe that the only way I survive getting fired or from doing something crazy is because Jesus loves me so much and He knows my heart. My heart is filled with love for Him but my actions do not always follow my heart and when that happens, I offend my loving and merciful Lord.

So today I was in the deep water and Jesus came to me for a catch and that catch was me. I surrender Lord! I am yours! Do with me as you will! Jesus, I trust in you! Amen.

Deep Water

Leave a Reply

