I Love The Lord

I love the Lord, I love the Lord, I love the Lord and I can say this over and over because I really love the Lord. I’ve learned that at some times though, I must be careful, not in the sense of being afraid to tell someone I love the Lord, but because saying that boldly might cause one to be pushed away from me and from God. In evangelizing, I think it is much better in many cases to use all the loving gifts God gives me to attract others and then waiting for God to open a door to share my love for Him.

Sharing our own stories I think is a great way to evangelize. We are on a journey and we have all had many detours and accidents along the way to where we are at today in our relationship with Jesus. I usually wear my emotions on my sleeve which can make me very unattractive in bringing Christ into my little world. I’m learning though, each and every day that it is not about me and it is all about Jesus.

Somehow, today’s second reading from James 2:1-5 got me to thinking about what I just wrote even though it does not follow my train of thought…

My brothers and sisters, show no partiality as you adhere to the faith in our glorious Lord Jesus Christ. For if a man with gold rings and fine clothes comes into your assembly, and a poor person in shabby clothes also comes in, and you pay attention to the one wearing the fine clothes and say, “Sit here, please,” while you say to the poor one, “Stand there,” or “Sit at my feet,” have you not made distinctions among yourselves and become judges with evil designs? Listen, my beloved brothers and sisters. Did not God choose those who are poor in the world to be rich in faith and heirs of the kingdom that he promised to those who love him?

Hopefully, I can explain. My work is in the customer service business and I deal with many of those with gold rings and fine clothes with an expectation of entitlement because of the money they have given and spent. And there are those who have very little that come in once in a while to buy according to their strict budget. When I first started, I despised the rich and promised myself to take care of those with little. I think to most that sounds pretty good but it is not. My attitude was bad and I became less friendly and very short with the rich and much more long and friendly with the poor.

I do not think that is what Jesus would want. How can I ever evangelize to the rich if I have an attitude with them because they are rich? I have really grown in this area and still have a ways to go. Everyone is important. I look forward each day to do whatever the Lord wills for me to share my love for Him. Sometimes, I never have to say a word and my smiles, hugs, handshakes and the likes can speak of God’s love through me. I truly hope you all had a blessed Sunday. Praise the Lord!

I Love The Lord

Leave a Reply

