It’s Not Easy To Follow Jesus

In today’s Gospel from Luke 6:20-26, it is filled with blessings and woes!

Let’s look at the blessings: Blessed are you who are poor                                                                                                   Blessed are you who are now hungry                                                                                         Blessed are you who are now weeping                                                                                      Blessed are you when people hate you, and when they                                                           exclude and insult you, and denounce your name as evil on                                                account of the Son of Man

Let’s look at the woes: Woe to you who are rich                                                                                                             Woe to you who are filled now                                                                                                   Woe to you who laugh now                                                                                                       Woe to you when all speak well of you

When I think about how I live my life, it’s very hard to even think where I might stand in the presence of God. It reminds me all the more that I can depend on myself for nothing and like a child, I must depend completely on my Lord.

Jesus, it is very difficult to follow you. I pray to be open to your grace to be transformed into the child of God you created me to be. Lord, have mercy on me a sinner. Amen.

It’s Not Easy To Follow Jesus

Leave a Reply

