I Can See Clearly Now

I remember the song by Johnny Nash – “I can see clearly now the rain is gone; I can see all obstacles in my way; Gone are the dark clouds that had me blind; It’s gonna be a bright, bright sunshiny day.” Today’s Gospel reading from Luke 6 reminds me how I can see clearly and it isn’t the way of the world today.

Why do you notice the splinter in your brother’s eye, but do not perceive the wooden beam in your own? How can you say to your brother, ‘Brother, let me remove that splinter in your eye,’ when you do not even notice the wooden beam in your own eye? You hypocrite! Remove the wooden beam from your eye first; then you will see clearly to remove the splinter in your brother’s eye.”

How often it is so easy to see the faults of others. It’s harder to look deeply into the mirror and see what God knows about me that I would like to keep hidden from the world. I often tell people that I am an open book but really that’s not true. The most intimate person I have ever known is my wife and there are way too many things I would not want her to know about me.

I guess my point would be that I need to be as merciful with others as I want God to be merciful with me. I am working on it and by the grace of God, I am doing much better. I do think often of God’s commandments of Love the Lord your God with all your heart, soul, mind and strength and to love your neighbor as yourself. The only way I think I can truly love my neighbor is if I can keep sawing away at my wooden beam so that I might see a little more clearly each day, both myself and my neighbor.

I Can See Clearly Now

Leave a Reply

