Liar, Lunatic or Lord

And he asked them, “But who do you say that I am?”

So Jesus asks us the same question today. Before Mass today, we were played a video clip by Matthew Kelly in which he shared C.S. Lewis’ trilemma of who is Jesus to us.

If I thought He was a liar, I would be a fool to follow Him. I am a liar. I am capable of lying at any time. God sends me His grace to not lie and I have a choice to accept it or not accept it. If I choose my sinful ways, I would lie to you in a heartbeat. Jesus did not lie. He just kept loving, healing and presenting the truth to all the liars, hypocrites and sinners like me. How many of us walk away and turn our backs on Jesus?

How can He be a lunatic? Do lunatics heal and do miracles like Jesus? Do lunatics speak like Jesus? A lunatic is crazy and irrational. Jesus’ ways may seem crazy and irrational in the world, but it is us lunatics who choose the world over Jesus.

I know He is the Lord. My life has great meaning. It had no meaning prior to my conversion. It was all about me. Now it’s all about Jesus and me seeking His grace to eliminate the bad, selfish and evil habits I have grown to call normal prior to knowing the truth.

So without blinking an eye or seeking to think, I know my answer. It is LORD. If your answer is LORD, Jesus tells us today…

“Whoever wishes to come after me must deny himself, take up his cross, and follow me. For whoever wishes to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for my sake and that of the gospel will save it.”

How many of us are willing to give up our lives for the sake of the Gospel?

Liar, Lunatic or Lord

Leave a Reply

