The Pillar & Foundation Of Truth – The Bible? or The Church?

St. Paul, in today’s first reading from 1Timothy 3:15 says…

But if I should be delayed, you should know how to behave in the household of God, which is the church of the living God, the pillar and foundation of truth.

I think before I really began to take the teachings of the Catholic Church to heart, I probably would have answered the Bible. Many Christians today believe that the Bible is the authority we are to live by. To a certain extent, I would agree but there has to be a teaching authority and that is the Church. If I believe the Bible is the Word of God and my friend believes that the Bible is the Word of God, and we disagree on a scripture passage and it’s meaning, who is right? There can only be one truth and we know that one truth is Jesus. So how do we know what Jesus actually is revealing to us if we both believe we are being guided by the Holy Spirit?

Jesus says in Matthew 16:18-19…

“And so I say to you, you are Peter, and upon this rock I will build my church, and the gates of the netherworld shall not prevail against it. I will give you the keys to the kingdom of heaven. Whatever you bind on earth shall be bound in heaven; and whatever you loose on earth shall be loosed in heaven.”

The Church! Yes, our church, filled with sinners like me that say the wrong things, do the wrong things and constantly beg for God’s mercy because of the selfish sinful hypocritical catholics that we are. Yet God loves us and reveals His truth through the authority of the Church through Sacred Scripture, Sacred Tradition and the Magisterium of the Church (teaching authority).

Even with so much separation, even within the Catholic Church itself, there is still one truth. We may change as Christians and come to a fuller understanding of the truth but the truth does not change. The world wants the church to get with the times but the real truth is, the world loses and Jesus, the truth has already won. So, my answer today is THE CHURCH and I will add that in the truth, I love the Lord with all my heart, soul, mind and strength and I love my neighbor as myself. Thank you Jesus!

The Pillar & Foundation Of Truth – The Bible? or The Church?

3 thoughts on “The Pillar & Foundation Of Truth – The Bible? or The Church?

Leave a Reply

