Dr. JESUS

Jesus calls me again today and every day. The last line of today’s Gospel is his daily call to me, “I did not come to call the righteous but sinners.” He prefaced it by saying, “Those who are well do not need a physician, but the sick do.”

I am a sinner and truly a sick man. Because of sin, I am capable of doing anything unimaginable. That is a very scary thought for me. I am so dependent on the Grace of God that without it, the sickness and sin in me would dwell in darkness. There would be no peace in my life and no light.

Powerball has been the big news in my city. We have a winner here. I have had people ask me if it was me who won. You might have heard the saying, “you can’t win if you don’t buy a ticket.” I believe the truth for me is, “I did win because I didn’t buy a ticket”

I have heard many say, if I win, I will do this, or that, and this and that. I would suggest that if I won, no matter what good intentions I had or what I said I would do, I most assuredly would not. Would that money bring me closer to God or separate me from him? I am a very weak man, sin has beaten me down. I do not want the temptation to walk a path that God is not choosing for me. Jesus, the physician who specializes in sin replacement with virtue, is working on me. I have daily appointments with him to get well. Thanks be to God! Amen.

Mike Burke, Saturday, January 16, 2016
Dr. JESUS

Leave a Reply

