Never Judge A Book From Its Cover

Today’s reading from Samuel 16 tells about Samuel being sent to choose a king from Jesse’s sons. None of the 7 sons presented were selected until Samuel asked if there were any more sons. Of course there was one more, he was out tending the sheep. The one no one expected to be chosen was the one the Lord wanted. That was King David.

We are not supposed to judge anyone especially by appearance. Only God knows the heart and we do not. But don’t we do it anyway? I can have some pretty strong opinions about others and make the mistake of judging their capabilities or lack thereof. How often am I wrong? Very often to be truthful.

God calls me to love and not to judge. Again, I cannot judge a book from its cover! God chose King David to lead his people. You know David, he slew Goliath and conquered the feared Philistines. He also was an adulterer and a murderer. He also disobeyed God. Why would God choose him? I think for the same reason he chooses sinful people like you and me to accomplish his will in our lives. Through David, God’s will was accomplished

Lord, you know me better than I know myself. My hope is in you. I pray for conversion, transformation and surrender to whatever you desire of me. Let me only know your will. Amen.

Mike Burke, Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Never Judge A Book From Its Cover

Leave a Reply

