Praise and Glory to God

The scripture passages today remind me that my Lord deserves all praise and glory and that’s what he desires from me. I can praise him in my words and in my deeds, especially my desire to do his will and not my will.

The Gospel talks about fasting. When I think of fasting, food always comes to mind. I must admit, I struggle with the thought of fasting because I like to eat. But fasting is much more than just eating and there are many ways of sacrifice and mortifications that are pleasing to God. But I do think the Lord puts fasting from food on my heart because of my attachment to it.

When I am attached to anything, I will desire it more and replace God in my life with it. Food can be an attachment for me. When I am stressed, I eat. When I celebrate I eat. I can always seem to find some reason to eat and giving up food can be a challenge for me. To fast would help me to bring my focus on the Praise and Glory of God rather than myself.

Today I have the day off in honor of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Here is a man that praised God and stood up for God’s truth. He loved Jesus and was willing to die like Jesus so that others might have the freedom of life that I was given. I know I will not understand the magnitude of his suffering but he and all who profess Jesus are my brothers and sisters in Christ. Amen.

Mike Burke, Monday, January 18, 2016
Praise and Glory to God

2 thoughts on “Praise and Glory to God

  1. Mary says:

    I love this! Fasting can take so many different forms, not just food. It is a letting go of something for the glory of God. We all should pray to see what it is that God would have us abstain from and in that absence use it for prayer.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

