But They Remained Silent

Jesus asked the Pharisees, “Is it lawful to do good on the sabbath rather than to do evil, to save life rather than to destroy it?”

Let’s say, I am with my friend who has cancer and been in pain for many years. It’s Sunday, a day of rest, no unnecessary work to be done and here is Jesus in our midst and he calls out to my suffering friend. And he asks me the question, “Is it lawful to do good on the sabbath rather than to do evil, to save life rather than to destroy it?” I scream yes! Thank you Jesus!

There is a man with a withered hand before Jesus. How do the Pharisees respond to Jesus? The scriptures say “but they remained silent.” This passage did get me to ponder how often I am silent when I should speak and how often I speak when I should be silent. So before I bring my frustration down on the Pharisees, I do have to check myself also.

As a man living now near the end of life, I have become more aware of my desire to not offend God. Today’s Gospel says that Jesus was angry and grieved at their hardness of heart. He then healed the man. And the Pharisees were silent no more as they took counsel with the Herodians to put Jesus to death.

Lord I can only hope that you will melt away any hardness in my heart that would keep me from being pleasing to you. Amen.

Mike Burke, Wednesday, January 20, 2016
But They Remained Silent

Leave a Reply

