Obedience And Perseverance

2

Today is the Feast of the Presentation of the Lord. Mary and Joseph take Jesus to Jerusalem to the Temple to present him to his Father, our Father. OBEDIENCE – Luke 2:22-23 “just as it is written in the law of the Lord, Every male that opens the womb shall be consecrated to the Lord, and to offer the sacrifice of a pair of turtledoves or two young pigeons, in accordance with the dictate in the law of the Lord.”

Mary and Joseph were very obedient. I would like to think that I am obedient to the teachings of the church. There is an awful lot to be obedient to and that is why I think there are struggles for me and within the people of the church. We know that there is only one truth and that is Jesus Christ. We also know that he gave us a church in which he reveals himself through Sacred Scripture, Sacred Tradition and the Magisterium of the Church. In pondering, my obedience can more simply be shown by loving the Lord with all my heart, soul, mind and strength along with loving my neighbor as myself.

Simeon, a righteous and devout man was promised by the Holy Spirit that he would not die until he had seen the Christ of the Lord. So he waited in the Temple, day after day, year after year and mocked by many. PERSEVERANCE – Simeon saw Jesus! Luke 2:29-32 “Now, Master, you may let your servant go in peace, according to your word, for my eyes have seen your salvation, which you prepared in the sight of all the peoples: a light for revelation to the Gentiles, and glory for your people Israel.”

Both Simeon and the prophetess Anna persevered in the promise of God that they would see Jesus. In a different way, have I not been promised that I will also see Jesus? As I strive to persevere, I recall many setbacks. I have lost patience, mostly with myself and I have given into temptations that might question my true perseverance in preparing to meet Jesus at my particular and final judgment.

But today I celebrate the Presentation of the Lord with great hope in our loving and merciful Savior who came to call, not the righteous, but sinners just like me. Amen, Alleluia!

Mike Burke; Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Obedience And Perseverance

3 thoughts on “Obedience And Perseverance

  1. The Contrite Catholic says:

    The idea of holy obedience, even when we think we are the exception, is so lost on the world today. Deep inside, everyone says to themselves ‘I’m special. God, knows my heart. I don’t have to follow the rules!’ Good post!

    Liked by 2 people

      1. The Contrite Catholic says:

        I loathe this zeitgeist which says ‘well, I haven’t murdered anyone, so I’m a good person!’ Really? That’s how low you want to set the bar? No wonder the world is so crazy!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

