An Understanding Heart

heart1

That would describe the heart of Solomon from today’s first reading from 1 Kings 3 as God answered him by giving him “a heart so wise and understanding” that there has never been anyone like you up to now, and after you there will come no one to equal you.”

I can’t even imagine how I would respond today if God, in a dream, said to me, “Ask something of me and I will give it to you.” I think my answer today would be eternal life in heaven for all the people ever in my life, especially those I have hurt and those in the most need of God’s mercy. Earlier in my life, I am pretty sure it would have been for great fame and fortune.

I thought today’s Response, Lord, teach me your statutes” goes so well with Psalm 119:9-14 as a great prayer of wisdom to offer our Lord as we head into our weekend.

How shall a young man be faultless in his way?
By keeping to your words.

With all my heart I seek you;
let me not stray from your commands.

Within my heart I treasure your promise,
that I may not sin against you.

Blessed are you, O LORD;
teach me your statutes.

With my lips I declare
all the ordinances of your mouth.

In the way of your decrees I rejoice,
as much as in all riches.

 Mike Burke; Saturday, February 6, 2016
An Understanding Heart

Leave a Reply

