The Super Sunday 3!

tumblr_static_hbhjb

Sunday’s readings highlighted 3 men who with each of their quotes today, brought great light into my life. The 3 men are the Prophet Isaiah, St. Paul and St. Peter. It is interesting to me that each quote has kind of a commonality but said in very different circumstances.

ISAIAH: “Woe is me, I am doomed! For I am a man of unclean lips, living among a people of unclean lips; yet my eyes have seen the King, the LORD of hosts!”

PAUL: “For I am the least of the apostles, not fit to be called an apostle, because I persecuted the church of God. But by the grace of God I am what I am, and his grace to me has not been ineffective.”

PETER: “Depart from me, Lord, for I am a sinful man.”

Every day, I strive to be the best version of myself. Unlike Isaiah, I have not seen the Lord face to face. When I do at my particular judgment, will my lips be unclean? I was a former high school coach and using 4 letter words were pretty common. By the Grace of God, I do not speak them anymore but unbeknownst to others, they at times are fully in my mind. I must also be aware of how and what I speak with others. Do I offend the Lord?

I have watched God work in my life. I can, like St. Paul, joyfully say by the Grace of God, I am what I am. My biggest challenge is to accept and like who I am. Even with all the good I do or try to do, God knows the real me and who I really am. My hope though is throw myself upon his mercy daily.

St. Peter gives me hope. How many times have I told the Lord, I know better. Probably more times than St. Peter. It’s easy to smile at the things St. Peter says and does because he often never understands, makes promises he can’t keep and sins. Wow, I am so much like him. But God built the Church on this sinful man and in his mercy, never gave up on him. That is great hope for me!

Mike Burke; Sunday, February 7, 2016
The Super Sunday 3!

Leave a Reply

