Taking The Do’s & Don’ts To Heart

Open-Heart-Transparent-300x289

Happy Ash Wednesday! I am thankful for this opportunity to journey and draw ever closer Jesus to become the best versions of myself and the child of God I was created to be. Today’s readings are packed with what we should do and not do so I thought it would be good to make a list as a reminder for me as I begin Lent.

In the Book of Joel 2, our God says;

  1. Return to me with your whole heart, with fasting, and weeping, and mourning. Rend your hearts, not your garments, and return to the LORD, your God.
  2. Blow the trumpet in Zion! Proclaim a fast, call an assembly; Gather the people, notify the congregation; assemble the elders, gather the children and the infants at the breast.
  3. Let the bridegroom quit his room and the bride her chamber. Between the porch and the altar let the priests, the ministers of the LORD, weep, and say, “Spare, O LORD, your people, and make not your heritage a reproach, with the nations ruling over them!

In 2 Corinthians 5, St. Paul says;

  1. We implore you on behalf of Christ, be reconciled to God.
  2. Working together, then, we appeal to younot to receive the grace of God in vain.

In the Gospel from Matthew 6, Jesus says,

  1. Take care not to perform righteous deeds in order that people may see them.
  2. When you give alms, do not blow a trumpet before you, but when you give alms, do not let your left hand know what your right is doing, so that your almsgiving may be secret.
  3. When you pray, do not be like the hypocrites, who love to stand and pray in the synagogues and on street corners so that others may see them. But when you pray, go to your inner room, close the door, and pray to your Father in secret.
  4. When you fast, do not look gloomy like the hypocrites. But when you fast, anoint your head and wash your face, so that you may not appear to be fasting, except to your Father who is hidden.

I think it is all about my heart and the need to be open to let God be alive in me. I can try to follow all the do’s and don’ts but unless my heart changes, God’s Grace will be in vain for me. I hope and pray for 40 days of returning fully to the Lord with all my heart, soul, mind and strength. Lord, let me only know your will.

Mike Burke; Wednesday, February 10, 2016 (Ash Wednesday)
Taking The Do’s & Don’ts To Heart

Leave a Reply

