Come, Follow Me

Come_follow-me_PS

While reading the Gospel from Luke 5, I am filled with a great sense of thanksgiving. I am not sure how to even explain it. I know my upbringing, my past and my present. My life is changing it seems like every moment. Today, Levi, a tax collector, the scum of the earth, is asked to follow Jesus. He leaves everything behind and follows him.

I am like Levi. I have heard the call of Jesus and all I want for my life is to follow him. I am a sinner, have been a great sinner and yet, I have heard the call like Levi.

So the Pharisees and their scribes were complaining to Jesus’ disciples about him eating and drinking with the scummy people like Levi. They seem to put themselves above the likes of tax collectors and sinners.

I am like the Pharisees and their scribes. Today, a strange looking man came into my office and asked for directions. I approached him with kindness and went back to my desk to look up the location he was looking for. A coworker came to my desk concerned and I said “do you know where this place is at so I can get this guy out of the office?”

As soon as those words came out of my mouth I was ashamed that I spoke like that in front of my coworker. There is Jesus, standing before me in my office and I am hurriedly trying to push him out because he doesn’t look like I want him to. I was very disappointed in myself and asked for God’s forgiveness.

Later in the day, I had a second chance as it happened again with another person. This one was even a bit stranger than the first but I hope God was much more pleased with how I treated him this time. Jesus told the Pharisees and their scribes, “Those who are healthy do not need a physician, but the sick do. I have not come to call the righteous to repentance but sinners.”

I am not always healthy and I can get sick at times in sin. I am so thankful Jesus continues to call me to repentance and allow me to receive his love and mercy. Jesus, I love you! Jesus, I trust in you!

Mike Burke; Saturday, February 13, 2016
Come, Follow Me

3 thoughts on “Come, Follow Me

Leave a Reply

