Grammy’s For The Poor

 

Grammy-trophy

I was home today, having a Presidential holiday, and I celebrated by doing laundry, eating and then settling in for whatever sports I could find on TV. Some women’s basketball, some men’s basketball and then I saw on the channel guide that the Grammy’s were on. I am a musician but did not feel like watching people celebrating their God-given talents with self-proclaimed awards. It kind of sounds like I have some envy!

Truthfully, I do not. I just do not follow music very closely anymore and today’s artists are unfamiliar to me. I have heard some of their names but really do not know much about them. I turned on the show and I was captivated by what I saw. I talked with God often during the show especially thanking him for the amazing talent he has given these artists. I thought the show was spectacular and so well done. It was a gigantic WOW for me!

As I reflected on Tuesday’s scripture readings, I was still thinking about all the talent I just witnessed. Then, I daydreamed what it must be like to have all that fame, money, parties and the likes. It’s what I wanted growing up. I tried. I had some moments in my career and when I start to think about it, it always brings me back to sinful moments of my past and how they have so negatively affected my life.

So I come across today’s Responsorial Psalm 34 which is, “From all their distress God rescues the just.” Letting that sink in, I think that could really apply to where I am at today. I will not go as far as to say that I am just but I am really trying by the Grace of God so I will have to leave that up to the judgment of my Lord. Then, this verse from the Psalm popped out,When the poor one called out, the LORD heard, and from all his distress he saved him. From all their distress God rescues the just.”  

My thought, who are the poor? I know that people without God’s basic necessities would be considered poor. But I am going to suggest possibly another type of poor. How about the rich like our Grammy artists, professional athletes, actors, politicians and many in the public spotlight? I cannot even imagine the temptations of sin that they must face every day. And to think, that’s what I wanted for all of my childhood and most of my adult life. By the world’s standards, I am pretty much a failure. I couldn’t make it, I didn’t make it. But as I strive to live my life daily for the glory of God, maybe I am one of those poor who has been rescued from all my distress.

My prayer to God of thanksgiving for all of the great talent he has given these artists is not finished as I also ask him to protect them from all the evils of this world as Jesus himself tells us that it is very hard for one who is rich to enter the Kingdom of Heaven. It seems it just might be better to be poor which I really believe to mean depending completely on God and not on ourselves.

Mike Burke; Tuesday, February 16, 2016
Grammy’s For The Poor

Leave a Reply

