I Am The LORD

mathew25a

Today is President’s Day. Yesterday was Valentine’s Day and on Saturday was World Marriage Day. There is a lot for us to celebrate. To me, all of them bring to mind the need for our Lord. All of our world leaders need the guidance of the Holy Spirit whether they believe it or not. And, all of our relationships need Christ as the center.

In today’s first reading from Leviticus 19, God, speaking through Moses says 4 times, “I Am The LORD.” Moses tells God’s people what the Lord expects of them. All that he tells them are the same commands we should be following today. I think many people today want to discard the Old Testament and the law because Jesus came in fulfillment of the law.

Moving then to the New Testament reading today, Matthew 25 lays it out for us with how God is pleased when we follow him and what happens to us if we do not. I have read this passage many times and usually feel a little guilty as to what I really do in loving God and my neighbor. Jesus tells us: Give food to the hungry, drink to the thirsty, welcome the stranger, clothe the naked, care for the ill and visit the prisoners.

I have to do my part but I need you also and that’s why we are the church. We are given gifts to use and our Lord calls us to use them for those in need to glorify God. The Lord says when we do these acts of charity, we are righteous and receive eternal life and if we do not, eternal punishment. We know we cannot earn our salvation as that is a free gift from God through Jesus. He suffered so much out of love for us that it would seem like we should really want to get to know and love our Savior.

How do we get to know the people we love? The simple answer is that we spend time with them. We have to do the same with God to know him. We can all twist scripture and make it whatever we want. We can use it to justify our bad behavior as well as condemn others of theirs. God says he wants us to follow him because he is the Lord and today he tells us how to follow him. If we spend time with him, we will know how best to follow him.

I read a quote today from Mother Teresa that I thought was very profound which said; “I used to pray that God would feed the hungry, or do this or that, but now I pray that he will guide me to do whatever I am supposed to do, what I can do. I used to pray for answers, but now I am praying for strength. I used to believe that prayer changes things. Now I know that prayer changes us and we change things.”

Mike Burke; Monday, February 15, 2016
I Am The LORD

2 thoughts on “I Am The LORD

Leave a Reply

