“This Generation Is An Evil Generation”

repent

“This Generation Is An Evil Generation” says our Lord Jesus in today’s Gospel from Luke 11. This quote came over 2000 years ago and I have no doubt that he is speaking to our generation today. Jesus talks about Jonah and the Ninevites who repented from their evil ways and won the mercy and favor of God which was the first reading today from Jonah 3. The Ninevites listened to Jonah and repented and Jesus tells us that there is “something greater than Jonah here.” One might think that with all the written scripture and oral tradition passed down to us from generation to generation that “those who have ears ought to hear!”

I am getting older and I know I am very close to death. I may have 10, 20 or 30 more years at the most. I may only have a few minutes. There is no way to know. What I do know is that I choose to follow Jesus for as long as he permits me to live and when he calls, at my judgment, I pray I am ready, because of his love, mercy and grace, to enter eternal life with him forever in heaven. Jesus mentions the final judgment in today’s Gospel telling us that the “men of Nineveh will arise with this generation and condemn it.” Our generation is doomed without repentance.

Doom and gloom is not the message I hear. What I hear is a loving and merciful God, calling each one of us to accept his mercy and repent from the evils of our generation. It does not take much to look at the world today and discover what is evil. For me, it does not take much to look in the mirror and know the evils of the person staring back at me. I sincerely want to surrender my will to the Lord. My will does not work and my Lord’s will does.

I could list many things that offend God that bring great debate throughout the world. What God tells us is right and just, the world says no and finds ways to justify the sin. When God says no, the world says it’s ok because God understands. Satan is pretty smart to get a generation like ours to buy into so much evil today. I suggest that we do our best as individuals and together, as did the generation of Ninevites, to put on the sackcloth of repentance that is pleasing to God. Truly, our only hope is in the Lord. Lord have mercy.

Mike Burke; Wednesday, February 17, 2016
“This Generation Is An Evil Generation”

Leave a Reply

