Feast of the Chair of Saint Peter, Apostle

tcajan13_p18

“And so I say to you, you are Peter, and upon this rock I will build my Church, and the gates of the netherworld shall not prevail against it. I will give you the keys to the Kingdom of heaven. Whatever you bind on earth shall be bound in heaven; and whatever you loose on earth shall be loosed in heaven.” (Matthew 16:18-20)

As I age, I look at life with so much more simplicity. The world is in trouble but I sincerely trust in Jesus. We are all in this as brothers and sisters and because of our sins, we are going to suffer. I now see suffering as a grace from God. I think he permits it to help us grow into his image and likeness to always bring a greater good from our suffering. All we need to do is focus on the cross, the crucifixion, to know what love is.

My understanding of this passage today is very simplistic. Jesus chose Peter to build HIS church. Peter was a sinful man, an uneducated fisherman. He was given the keys, our first pope. We have had many popes, all sinful. God promised that the gates of the netherworld shall not prevail against it so if we believe the Word of God, the church will always stand. The Catholic Church claims to be that church. I am catholic. It does not make me better than anyone else. I do think it makes my life much more simple and peaceful as I do believe the teachings of the church. Again, Jesus gave the authority that whatever you bind on earth shall be bound in heaven…..

Today, the church honors the chair of St. Peter. There is actually a physical chair but today I honor the spiritual authority that it represents pertaining to faith and morals. This is my faith and by the grace of God, my morals will someday completely reflect Christ who lives in me.

Mike Burke; Monday, February 22, 2016
Feast of the Chair of Saint Peter, Apostle

Leave a Reply

