Teaching The Truth By Example

jesus-teaching

Today’s readings from Deuteronomy 4 and the Gospel of Matthew 5 talk about teaching. I was a high school coach for 20 plus years but as I reflect back, I tried to will my spirit to win on my players with rah rah enthusiasm, a lot of yelling and occasionally some positive teaching moments. My daughter is a teacher and a great one. Some of you bloggers I read are also excellent teachers as I learn much from your perspectives.

So the Lord today has Moses speaking to the Israelites saying “Therefore, I teach you the statutes and decrees as the LORD, my God, has commanded me, that you may observe them in the land you are entering to occupy. And in the Gospel, Jesus says “Do not think that I have come to abolish the law or the prophets. I have come not to abolish but to fulfill. Amen, I say to you, until heaven and earth pass away, not the smallest letter or the smallest part of a letter will pass from the law, until all things have taken place. Therefore, whoever breaks one of the least of these commandments and teaches others to do so will be called least in the Kingdom of heaven. But whoever obeys and teaches these commandments will be called greatest in the Kingdom of heaven.”

I wonder how often without really knowing it, we might teach others to break the commandments by our bad examples. Our children, families, friends and others hear and see much. We as Christians are in the spotlight. If we profess it, we should act it. Unfortunately, I know this all too well but in my growth through my journey of faith, I have become more aware of my actions and whether or not they are glorifying God or only living up to the standards of the world. I will tell you all with no hesitation that I love the Lord and I am the Lord’s. I need to show it to you every day.

Mike Burke; Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Teaching The Truth By Example

Leave a Reply

