Is Jeremiah Speaking To Us?

82ee341c23124ec3422e0f73a4407857

From the day that your fathers left the land of Egypt even to this day, I have sent you untiringly all my servants the prophets. Yet they have not obeyed me nor paid heed; they have stiffened their necks and done worse than their fathers. When you speak all these words to them, they will not listen to you either; when you call to them, they will not answer you. Say to them: This is the nation that does not listen to the voice of the LORD, its God, or take correction. Faithfulness has disappeared; the word itself is banished from their speech. (Jeremiah 7:25-28)

The Book of Jeremiah was written most likely early in the 5th century. The introduction says The Book of Jeremiah combines history, biography, and prophecy. It portrays a nation in crisis and introduces the reader to an extraordinary person whom the Lord called to prophesy under the trying circumstances of the final days of the kingdom of Judah.”

I personally think that I am living today in a nation in crisis. I do not think that we generally as a nation listen to Jesus. We have church leaders from every denomination pleading daily to turn to Jesus and listen to his voice. The nation I live in doesn’t seem to take correction. We seem to do what we want to do, we do it our way because we are powerful leaders aren’t we? Our faithfulness as a nation seems to be disappearing and frankly, if we are not going to listen to the Lord, he most likely will continue to permit us to wallow in our sinful ways.

Faith and trust in God is the answer to our crisis. We have been told this for over 2000 years. Dear Jesus, you are a very patient God. Lord have mercy.

Mike Burke; Thursday, March 3, 2016
Is Jeremiah Speaking To Us?

3 thoughts on “Is Jeremiah Speaking To Us?

  1. Many times I have been heard to say, “Come, Lord Jesus; I think it’s time.”
    Usually when people hear the admonition that they should listen to Jesus, they think you are telling them to read what he says in the Gospels. There’s nothing wrong with that. I believe in the living Word and that real-time guidance and direction can be found by reading the Bible. But, I also know Jesus lives. I also know Jesus speaks to me…and through me. (Once, when railing about the diocese’s lost opportunity to ‘join the choir’ during Charleston’s support of the blessed souls of Mother Emmanuel AME Church, last Summer, my now former priest said I sounded like a prophet.)
    “When you speak all these words to them, they will not listen to you ” I attempt to preach the Gospel through my writings, but my children do not read what I write; very few of my friends read it. They all say they do not have time. I think it is too much truth for them. Like I point out in “Device Protection,” some people are where I was, encrusted with too many scars and resentments to bear hearing God’s voice. Jesus speaks. We just can’t hear Him over the din of superficial concerns and obsessions. I’m with you: Lord have mercy; Christ have mercy; Lord have mercy.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I have to remember often that I am a planter and God is the sower. He knows my heart and desires better than me and he loves me so I think he will use my measly, insufficient efforts as he chooses to glorify Him. That gives me great hope.

      I, for almost all of my life was too busy for God, too busy to read or listen. How did I come to where I am today? Someone prayed, someone wrote and someone planted and by the grace of God, I started to listen. I am the beneficiary of hope.

      Keep on planting with love. Hope abounds in Jesus.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Jesus told me the other day,”Stop trying to control. Trust. Let things just happen and enjoy life.” When I look back on all of my failures and disasters, I see that the alternatives and fixes were better than what I originally intended. God is in control. I just need to show up.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

