Our Heavenly Father’s Love And Mercy

2077807

Today’s Gospel from Luke 15:11-32 is the familiar story of the parable of the Prodigal Son. In a nutshell, one of two sons goes to his father and pretty much says to him, father, you are dead to me so give me my share of your inheritance. The father loves him and gives him the money which the son uses for self-gratifying, sinful purposes and squanders it all. A famine strikes and the son is working tending pigs and finally comes to his senses to go home and ask for forgiveness and to work as a hired hand for his father. He goes home, the father greets him, treats him like royalty and throws a party for him because he once was lost but now was found.

There is much more than this tiny synopsis to the story but it is a reminder to me of how much I am loved by Our Heavenly Father. Everything Our Father has is mine. I am his adopted son. Even with all my sins, he welcomes me back through my repentance each and every time I stray. He is an unconditional lover. How much does he love me? He gave his only begotten son for me. His son that died on a cross for me. I love Our Heavenly Father.

After Mass, I was sitting in the pews just reflecting on my love for God. There were a few people gathering and some children were running around. Three of the children were running through the pews and chose the pew I was sitting in and when they reached me, they said excuse me and ran right on through. I thought it was a perfect time to reflect the love of Our Heavenly Father. I thought about Jesus saying, “let the children come to me.” I watched the children run some more and then a man, probably their father, told them to stop. I thought, isn’t that how Our Heavenly Father loves us? He reproves us when we get a little out of hand with our sins but he still loves us.

I hope you all have a beautiful Sunday and to especially give thanks to our loving and merciful Heavenly Father. Glory be to the Father, Son and Holy Spirit. Amen.

Mike Burke; Sunday, March 6, 2016
Our Heavenly Father’s Love And Mercy

One thought on “Our Heavenly Father’s Love And Mercy

Leave a Reply

