Do We Need Miracles To Believe?

jesus-heals-the-son-of-the-royal-official

Jesus said to him, “Unless you people see signs and wonders, you will not believe. (John 4:48)

The quote above is Jesus’ response to the Royal Official who asked Jesus to come with him to heal his son. It’s the rest of the dialogue that seals the deal. The Royal Official said back to Jesus, “Sir, come down before my child dies.” Jesus then responds, “You may go; your son will live.” It says the man believed Jesus, left and on his way back home, found out that his child would live.

I think the Royal Official had faith that Jesus could heal his son and he had tremendous courage to respond to Jesus like he did believing that he would heal his son. In my own prayer, I have come to say often “your will be done, not mine.” I think that shows trust in the Lord to accept whatever he permits to happen. What I think I do lack is the boldness to ask for what I want. It is like I do not want to bother Jesus with such trivial things unless I am in a desperate bind.

It got me thinking that the Royal Official asked and not only did his son receive healing but his whole household came to believe. I wonder how many of us today are looking for miracles to believe or even to increase the little faith we have. I think in my own truth and honesty that I am hoping to see signs and wonders happen in my own life so I might share the greatness of God with others to bring them to a greater faith. The real miracle in my life is where I am today in my journey coming from a life of no faith and no understanding of God. How did I even get here? Only by the grace of God and it is a miracle. I myself am a sign and wonder from the Lord. I would imagine that most of you reading this are too. Praise God!

Mike Burke; Monday, March 7, 2016
Do We Need Miracles To Believe?

3 thoughts on “Do We Need Miracles To Believe?

  1. We need more of that, Mike! So many are waiting for signs, but when we sit and look at ourselves. Our lives. Really examine the fact that we’re even alive. That in itself, is a miracle. It’s refreshing to see someone appreciate the Lord’s work. Even if it’s something as simple as saying, “I’m here. That’s miraculous!”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

