God & Mothers

mother_child_79

It was said by the prophet Isaiah that the people of Zion said, “The LORD has forsaken me; my Lord has forgotten me.” Then he prophesied for the Lord, “Can a mother forget her infant, be without tenderness for the child of her womb? Even should she forget, I will never forget you.” (Isaiah 49:15)

I will begin with an apology today to all who may have been hurt or abandoned by their mothers. But even so, the Lord promises never to abandon you.

Great comfort comes to me as I read this passage. The examples that I have of mothers are ones of utter amazement. My own mother was the most kind and loving mother a child could have. My wife and both of my daughters are incredible mothers. My family and friends that I know are loving and caring mothers. The word that comes to mind when I think about the mothers I know is SACRIFICE. They love just like our Heavenly Father, who gave his only begotten Son as a SACRIFICE for us. They love just like Jesus who willingly gave his life as a SACRIFICE for us in obedience to his Father.

Mothers give! It is hard for me to think that a mother would forget her infant. The mothers I know would not. So to hear that even if a mother should forget, God will never forget his children and we are all his children, each of us called by our name. My mother is no longer with us but I would suggest tonight if possible to give your mother a hug. For me, I will give a spiritual hug to my mother and a spiritual hug to my spiritual Mother Mary, who is mother of us all. Thanks be to God. Amen.

Mike Burke; Wednesday, March 9, 2016
God & Mothers

3 thoughts on “God & Mothers

Leave a Reply

