Eyes To Heaven

man_xlarge

Yesterday in the Gospel, a woman caught in adultery was brought to Jesus and through the power of God was spared and given a second chance. In today’s first reading from Daniel 13:1-62, a woman was accused of adultery by two evil judges and again by the power of God through Daniel, was given a second chance after being condemned to death falsely. God saved the guilty one yesterday and God saved the innocent one today.

There was a passage that jumped out at me in the reading that was giving some background on the old judges. When the old men saw her enter every day for her walk, they began to lust for her. They suppressed their consciences; they would not allow their eyes to look to heaven, and did not keep in mind just judgments.” As I read this, they were watching her every day, looking for a chance to lie with her. That simple first look at beauty, without raising their eyes to heaven, led to the sin of lust growing each day which led to their terrible action of trying to force themselves on her.

As I continue to grow old, I still have my issues with thoughts of impurity and how easy my eyes can wander. Some of the best advice I have been given is to try to see everything as a gift from God. When I see someone or something that attracts me that might lead me into a stage of sin like the old judges, it is important to look to heaven and to see God’s glory in it. If I cannot see God’s glory, I must turn away, unlike the evil judges or I will be led into the darkness of my sin.

With all the sins of the world so readily available to us, allowing our eyes to look to heaven will keep us from entering the darkness in the world. I have been in the dark many a day in my life and I can share honestly that it is much better in the light. And finally, God did not save the guilty judges who would not allow their eyes to look to heaven.

Mike Burke; Monday, March 14, 2016
Eyes To Heaven

Leave a Reply

