“Come On Baby Light My Fire”

shamesab

Being a musician and a keyboard player, I fondly remember The Doors and their song “Light My Fire” as they featured a great keyboard intro, solo and ending. It was a time to shine for the fans. There were three men in today’s first reading from Daniel 3:14-95 that really shined in their love and obedience to God.

What would I do today if, let’s say extremists, said to me that I must fall down and worship their statue whenever I heard the sound of the trumpet, flute, lyre, harp, psaltery, bagpipe, and all the other musical instruments or I would be instantly cast into the white-hot furnace? That’s not the message I get from singing Light My Fire or is it? “The time to hesitate is through……”

Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego did not hesitate in their response to King Nebuchadnezzar saying; “There is no need for us to defend ourselves before you in this matter. If our God, whom we serve, can save us from the white-hot furnace and from your hands, O king, may he save us! But even if he will not, know, O king, that we will not serve your god or worship the golden statue that you set up.”

Oh-oh, light that fire up as the king ordered the furnace to be heated seven times more than usual and the 3 men cast into the fire. An amazing miracle happened as the king was told; “I see four men unfettered and unhurt, walking in the fire, and the fourth looks like a son of God.” This is some pretty awesome stuff! That same God, the son of God Jesus, walks with us through the fires in our lives every day. How blessed we are!

I end with a prayer from the king who committed this evil act; “Blessed be the God of Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego, who sent his angel to deliver the servants who trusted in him; they disobeyed the royal command and yielded their bodies rather than serve or worship any god except their own God.” And with that, I reply with a resounding AMEN!

Mike Burke; Wednesday, March 16, 2016
“Come On Baby Light My Fire”

Leave a Reply

