The Blessings Of A Father

st-patricks-day_lg.jpg

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

Today’s readings have Abraham, a father, as the theme. In Genesis 17, God changes the name of Abram to Abraham and tells him that he is making him the father of a host of nations. The Jews in the Gospel of John 8 see Abraham as their father and much greater than Jesus. Jesus tells them; “Amen, amen, I say to you, before Abraham came to be, I AM.” Wow, the Jews knew the meaning of I AM so what did they do? They bowed down and worshiped Jesus just like we do – NOT! They picked up stones to throw at him.

When I read things like that, my first reaction is if they only knew, they would never throw stones. But I do know who Jesus is and I still pick up stones to throw every time I contemplate sin and I actually throw them when I sin.

I share tonight my love and thanksgiving for my most awesome and merciful God. I was blessed tonight to spend the evening with my youngest daughter and grandson. I am so blessed as a father and papa that words cannot describe. I love you Lord more than my heart can express. I end with my short version of St. Patrick’s Breastplate prayer that I pray each day.

Christ with me; Christ before me; Christ behind me; Christ in me; Christ beneath me; Christ above me; Christ on my right; Christ on my left; Christ when I lie down; Christ when I sit down; Christ when I arise; Christ in the heart of every man who thinks of me; Christ in the heart of every person who speaks of me; Christ in every eye that sees me; Christ in every ear that hears me; I arise today through a mighty strength, the invocation of the Trinity; through belief in the Threeness; through confession of the Oneness of the Creator of Creation. Amen.

Mike Burke; Thursday, March 17, 2016
The Blessings Of A Father

Leave a Reply

