Leave Her Alone

8ca4337ba7aaf84e9ae7bb0121c3fa0f

As Holy Week begins, we get mention of Judas Iscariot in today’s Gospel. John, the writer of the Gospel, tells us that Judas is the one who would betray Jesus. Judas questions Jesus about why the expensive oil that Mary, sister of Lazarus and Martha, was using to anoint the feet of Jesus was not being sold for 300 day’s wages and given to the poor. Then John tells us a little more about Judas saying, He said this not because he cared about the poor but because he was a thief and held the money bag and used to steal the contributions.” That’s when Jesus says;

“Leave her alone. Let her keep this for the day of my burial. You always have the poor with you, but you do not always have me.” (John 12:7-8)

I am sure Judas did not like hearing this response from Jesus. Judas went on to make some very bad choices because he did not listen to Jesus. I think I too often do the same. Sometimes the interior voice in me says do this or do not do that. I find when I take the time to ask the Holy Spirit to help me discern, I have more peace and understanding in following God’s will. And the opposite of my will be done may seem to work out but more likely leads to more problems.

I was thinking, who do I need to leave alone? Knowing I am not to judge others, I do. I still compare and when I open my mouth about it in conversation, it does nothing but distance me farther from Jesus and closer to the sins of this gossipy world. I hope that reflecting on this today will help to make me a little wiser in caring for others and not to choose the self-gratification that Judas desired.

Mike Burke; Monday, March 21, 2016
Leave Her Alone

Leave a Reply

