Holy Saturday

9640902

For me, Saturday night is drawing to a close as I reflect. Tomorrow I arise early to prepare for Easter Sunday Mass at 9:10am where I am again blessed to play music with my group to celebrate the Risen Jesus. But it is still Holy Saturday and I read a reflection from Fr. Vincent Nagle, F.S.C.B. based on Luke 24:1-12. I would like to share it with you.

A young Jewish woman destroyed by her sense of guilt contacted me. She had been living with her brother, who had gotten ill and could not live alone. One weekend she had planned to go away with friends and though her brother had pleaded with her not to leave him alone, she had left anyway. Upon returning to the house she had discovered his dead and cold body.

She had not been able to find her footing after that. People kept telling her, “It wasn’t your fault. You couldn’t have saved him had you been there. Leave it behind!” But she couldn’t. She was guilty

I said to her, “Your self-condemnation has become the final word for you. His death is irrevocable, and that makes it seem as if your condemnation is as well. But might not there be a word of forgiveness greater than death itself?” I suggested to her, “Get together with those who do works of mercy, and perhaps you may hear an even more final word from the God of mercy.”

Death had always been the final word for us. It was the news of the empty tomb that first opened up Peter to suspect a merciful word greater than death. May this news open us up to meet a word of forgiveness that has overcome death itself.

Let not death keep me imprisoned, O God our Father, but may your Son’s victory give me freedom!

 Have a beautiful Easter celebration my family and friends! He has risen!

Mike Burke; Holy Saturday, March 26, 2016
Holy Saturday

One thought on “Holy Saturday

Leave a Reply

