Repent… “Save Yourselves From This Corrupt Generation”

repent

This Easter “thing” is pretty special. Christ conquered death and was raised from the dead. It is very interesting to meditate on the Gospel and on the Acts of the Apostles passages after the resurrection. I can see myself in the people of Jesus’ time as well as our nation and people of the world. We are so similar in many ways.

In Acts 2 today, Peter talks to the Jewish people again that God made Jesus Lord and Christ and that they crucified him. Have you ever revisited or maybe are going through the pain of really hurting someone or causing a terrible situation? The relationship or the situation may appear that you are doomed. For me, I am going through the suffering of a situation that I caused many years ago. The Jewish people said to Peter and the other Apostles; “What are we to do, my brothers?” It’s a simple question I ask myself when my back is against the wall. Peter’s answer, “Repent and be baptized, every one of you, in the name of Jesus Christ, for the forgiveness of your sins; and you will receive the gift of the Holy Spirit. For the promise is made to you and to your children and to all those far off, whomever the Lord our God will call.” (Acts 2:38-39)

The Lord has called me and I would surmise that if you are reading this or any Christian blog that he is calling you. Most of us have been baptized but there is always a need for constant repentance. We are sinners and there is no doubt about it. The passage continues with Peter exhorting them to “Save yourselves from this corrupt generation.” Does anyone besides me think that we are living in a corrupt generation? Our answer is not in the world but in the one who created the world.

Speaking for myself, I repent often because I am a terrible sinner. I hurt because I offend my God but I also believe in his promise of mercy for those who do repent. My situation has not improved much. I have had to learn that by striving to love Jesus with all my heart, soul, mind and strength doesn’t mean that he will “fix” all my problems. He does promise that I will have peace in my suffering and I do. Thanks be to God!

Mike Burke; Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Repent… “Save Yourselves From This Corrupt Generation”

Leave a Reply

