You Can’t Always Get What You Want

4442412

In today’s scripture passage from Acts 3, a crippled man from birth was begging for silver and gold. The apostles Peter and John tell the man to look at them. He thinks he is going to receive what he is begging for but he is going to receive a whole lot more. Peter said to him, “I have neither silver nor gold, but what I do have I give you: in the name of Jesus Christ the Nazorean, rise and walk.”

It is a very amazing story! The passage continues, “Then Peter took him by the right hand and raised him up, and immediately his feet and ankles grew strong. He leaped up, stood, and walked around, and went into the temple with them, walking and jumping and praising God.” So much for the silver and gold!

This is a great reminder to me of not only the power of God through others but that God, in his infinite love, knows what is best for me in spite of what I think is best. It’s a reminder that I must put my faith and trust in God and his Spirit living in me.

Oh Holy Spirit, beloved of my soul, enlighten me, guide me, strengthen me, console me. Tell me what I should do. Give me your orders. I promise to submit myself to all that you desire of me and to accept all that you permit to happen to me. Let me only know your will. Amen.

Now comes the harder part, faith and trust in God and not in me!

Mike Burke; Wednesday, March 30, 2016
You Can’t Always Get What You Want

5 thoughts on “You Can’t Always Get What You Want

  1. Dearest, I hope you don’t mind, but I am going to steal some of your “Best Words,” as Donald likes to say. I get some of my best inspiration through other blogger’s writings. I’m stealing: “God, in his infinite love, knows what is best for me in spite of what I think is best.” I will use that, not as the title, but as the excerpt of one of my next essays…because it is so true.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

