Solemnity Of The Annunciation Of The Lord

Carl_Heinrich_Bloch_-_The_Annunciation

Carl Heinrich Bloch – The Annunciation

 

Today is another special day for me and the church. It’s the celebration of the day that God sent his Angel Gabriel to a young girl named Mary who was greeted by the Angel Gabriel with;

“Hail, full of grace! The Lord is with you.”

The Angel then continues;

“Do not be afraid, Mary, for you have found favor with God. Behold, you will conceive in your womb and bear a son, and you shall name him Jesus. He will be great and will be called Son of the Most High, and the Lord God will give him the throne of David his father, and he will rule over the house of Jacob forever, and of his Kingdom there will be no end.”

The Angel Gabriel then tells Mary how this will happen;

“The Holy Spirit will come upon you, and the power of the Most High will overshadow you. Therefore the child to be born will be called holy, the Son of God.”

And Mary responds with the humility I yearn to have each and every day of my life;

“Behold, I am the handmaid of the Lord. May it be done to me according to your word.”

I smile because spell-check wants me to put a question mark at the end of Mary’s proclamation! It was truly not a question. It was a statement of love to Our Loving Father to do with her as he wills. I am a “mama’s boy” as I truly love our Blessed Mother Mary. I can only hope, with the help of God’s Grace, to follow like Mary my “yes” to God with great obedience when I am asked to follow his holy will according to his word.

Mike Burke; Monday, April 4, 2016
Solemnity Of The Annunciation Of The Lord

Leave a Reply

