To Believe Or Not – A Doubting Thomas

doubting_thomas1

Non-catholics, please bear with me for just a moment as we truly are all brothers and sisters in Christ. Today the Catholic Church celebrates Divine Mercy Sunday. I am pretty sure that we all believe that our Lord and Savior Jesus is a loving and merciful God. St. Faustina wrote a diary throughout her life writing down her dialogues with Jesus who appeared to her often. Today is a very special day with very special promises and I am one who believes in these promises and I am extremely joy-filled this beautiful day of mercy!

From today’s Gospel from John 20:19-31, I wonder how my belief would have been if I had been in the place of Thomas the apostle. Jesus appeared to the disciples and Thomas was not present. When he came back and was told about Jesus he said, “Unless I see the mark of the nails in his hands and put my finger into the nailmarks and put my hand into his side, I will not believe.” Wow, “I WILL NOT BELIEVE?” That reminds me of times in my childhood where I would tell my friends to “prove it” before I would believe what they were saying.

How would I have felt a week later when Jesus appears again before me and the disciples and says “Peace be with you?” He then looks right at me and says, “Put your finger here and see my hands, and bring your hand and put it into my side, and do not be unbelieving, but believe.” Unlike Thomas, I do not think I would have needed to see his hands or put my finger into his side. I think I would have been on my knees at the appearance of Jesus. I can tell you though that I use Thomas’ response as a prayer at the consecration of the Eucharist at Mass, “My Lord and my God!” And then I add, “I believe, help my unbelief.”

It is not always easy to believe what he hear from each other as we share our faith and belief in Jesus. We are all seeking the truth and to me, that is what is so appealing about all the Christian blogs I continue to read daily. I have a great admiration for the sacrifice that each of you make to share your love for Jesus in your lives. My hope would be that we are all open to the Holy Spirit to guide us to his truth. May the joy of Jesus Christ be with you this day!

Mike Burke; Divine Mercy Sunday, April 3, 2016
To Believe Or Not – A Doubting Thomas

3 thoughts on “To Believe Or Not – A Doubting Thomas

  1. Continue to have your inclusive, loving attitude towards ALL who believe in Christ, even when our opinions about certain things differ. Those who choose to divide are working for the side of darkness, not light. I also posted about Divine Mercy Sunday today, so I’m glad to see your mention of it as well! God bless.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Gloria. It is a glorious day. How can we not love and show our mercy to all when Jesus so generously gives it to us. Have a blessed Divine Mercy Sunday!

      Like

Leave a Reply

