Believers Of One Heart And Mind

41345b8332d8567773f6a7877ce24009

What would it be like to be a community of believers that was of one heart and mind, and no one claimed that any of his possessions was his own, but they had everything in common? And, there was no needy person among them, for those who owned property or houses would sell them, bring the proceeds of the sale, and put them at the feet of the leaders of the community of believers, and they were distributed to each according to need.

I changed a few words above to personalize today’s first reading from Acts 4:32-37, but this is what the early church community of believers did with the Apostles of Jesus leading the way. What a novel idea to care for each other and share what we have been given for our neighbor and the glory of God.

So, now I wake up and walk over to the mirror and look at a man who gets frustrated when people do not live up to my expectations at work, a former coach who would get mad and punish players for not working hard enough and giving their all and a selfish man who generally thinks he works longer and harder than others which can leave a very bad taste in my mouth to say the least.

I wonder how long I would last in the community of believers, seemingly of one heart and mind? Truthfully, I am working on my issues to better love my neighbor as myself. I have peace knowing I am a work in progress and would love to live in a world of believers to share the rest of my life with. With continued prayer and the grace of God, I hope to experience with joy whatever God wills and permits to happen to me. Jesus, I trust in you!

Mike Burke; Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Believers Of One Heart And Mind

Leave a Reply

