The Truth Can Anger, Even Kill

jesus-is-the-truth_529066339

I am kind of big on the saying of “living the truth in love.” What it means to me first and foremost is that I must be living the Gospel, living the truth and exhibiting a good example of Christ living in me before others which means I must put others needs before my own. I have learned much in my studies of Sacred Scripture, Sacred Tradition and the teachings of the church. Yet, we Christians still do not agree on so many things such as our interpretations of truth, what is evil, what is good, politics, religion and the likes.

With all this in mind, I speak less and listen more. I write less and read more. If there is one thing I think that all believers have in common is that we love Jesus, want to follow Jesus and are seeking truth which is Jesus. Today’s first reading from Acts 5:27-33 continues from yesterday as Peter and the Apostles stand before the Sanhedrin who tells them; “We gave you strict orders did we not, to stop teaching in that name. Yet you have filled Jerusalem with your teaching and want to bring this man’s blood upon us.”

Before we listen to Peter’s answer to the Sanhedrin, truth comes into question. That is, the truth that the blood of Jesus is upon them. The blood of Jesus is upon us! Our sins put him to death as well. So Peter now speaks to all of us as he says; “We must obey God rather than men. The God of our ancestors raised Jesus, though you had him killed by hanging him on a tree. God exalted him at his right hand as leader and savior to grant Israel repentance and forgiveness of sins. We are witnesses of these things, as is the Holy Spirit whom God has given to those who obey him.”

There is only one truth and that truth is Jesus. We have the Holy Spirit living in us when we obey truth. Oh, and how did the Sanhedrin respond to Peter and the truth? “When they heard this, they became infuriated and wanted to put them to death.” And most all of the Apostles would eventually be put to death. They stayed united in Christ. We are all in this together seeking that truth and I am thankful that I am not alone on this journey. It is no longer I who live but Christ who lives in me and in you. God bless you all. Amen.

Mike Burke; Thursday, April 7, 2016
The Truth Can Anger, Even Kill

Leave a Reply

