Where Is My Joy Today?

hqdefault

Psalm 66 in today’s Responsorial says “Let all the earth cry out to God with joy.” I do not “feel” so joyful today still I have praised my Lord often. My praise for God is not based on my emotions and sometimes the words come easy but I am not too sure that it comes fully from the heart. All I really need to do is to ponder what I have been given in this life. I have been given much. I could not list the blessings, way too many! Maybe that is part of the reason for my lack of joy as I do not always fully appreciate what I have been given and still seeking more.

I am kind of tired, have a lot going on for me anyway and I am a little out of my comfort zone. I have felt tempted to consider doing things I do not want to do. Some are old habits revisiting me. It is a battle and maybe that is a part of my mental fatigue. There is so much evil in the world. It can get me down especially when I lose sight of Jesus. While I was driving, I was thinking, what is the worst thing that I can think of that has happened throughout all of time? My answer was the passion and crucifixion of Jesus. Then the greatest thing throughout all of time? I had the same answer, the passion and crucifixion of Jesus.

God lowered himself to become one like me except in sin, to show me what real love is by dying for all these sins I continue to give into and he still loves me as I am. Yet, I can write today that I do not “feel” joyful. Sometimes, I amaze myself as to how utterly foolish I can be. Thanks be to God for his gift of love and mercy. Another gift God has given me is the gift of music. If I want to find joy quickly, I can find the nearest piano, rev up my voice and do what Psalm 66, verse 4 says; “Let all on earth worship and sing praise to you, sing praise to your name!” I love you Jesus. Please forgive me. Amen.

Mike Burke; Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Where Is My Joy Today?

2 thoughts on “Where Is My Joy Today?

  1. I am so glad that feelings do not run our relationship with God. The days my feelings are crying out easily are wonderful, but other days crying out to God is more powerful because we are praising God even when everything seems to be going wrong. Thanks for your article.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I had a dreadful day, yesterday. I won’t go into details because it will just raise my blood pressure. When I could not find help I started watching the best of the talent auditions on the internet. The performers give their all and so many of the songs pertain to overcoming hardships. Sometimes I sing along and sometimes I dance. When that ultimate run or note is hit and held, I open my arms to the sky and Jesus is there, smiling with me. That’s good stuff…that’s God stuff.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

