A Story Of Finding Jesus

Philip_and_eunuch

Acts 8:26-40 in today’s first reading tells a story that has me reflecting how God’s grace has really helped me to grow in my faith, love and understanding of God’s Holy Word. An Ethiopian eunuch is reading the Prophet Isaiah when an Angel of the Lord prompts Philip to go to the eunuch.

Before going any further, this is what the eunuch was reading; Like a sheep he was led to the slaughter, and as a lamb before its shearer is silent, so he opened not his mouth. In his humiliation justice was denied him. Who will tell of his posterity? For his life is taken from the earth.” (Isaiah 53:7-8)

When I read this I believe that Isaiah if fully prophesying about Jesus, what happened and pretty much exactly what Philip is being called to do to tell of his posterity in the eunuch’s presence. But there was a time, not that long ago, that this would have little meaning for me and I would have not had a clue.

So back to Philip, he asks the eunuch, “Do you understand what you are reading?” The eunuch replies, “How can I unless someone instructs me?” So Philip instructs him and the eunuch asks to be baptized when he sees water and Philip baptizes him. I think we all have our own stories of conversion, instruction and how we came to know Jesus. I want to again say how much I grow reading so many of the blogs who share their lives on their journey with Jesus. Whether we agree or disagree, we learn from each other as we trust that the Holy Spirit will lead us to truth just like the eunuch found Philip to instruct him. I think it’s an awesome story of God’s love, care and concern for all of his children. We are blessed! Amen.

Mike Burke; Thursday, April 14, 2016
A Story Of Finding Jesus

Leave a Reply

