Out Of My Comfort Zone

Good-bye-Comfort-Zone

Today’s first reading from Acts 9:1-20 is about the conversion of Saint Paul. Here is Saul, persecuting Christians and on the road to Damascus, he has a revelation from Jesus and most of us I think know that Saul became Paul, an apostle of Jesus Christ who has written so many letters that we read in our bibles today.

I have been extremely busy this week and the next few days continue with commitments and responsibilities to fill. I like my comfort zone. It goes like this. Prayer, work and prayer throughout the day, home, prayer, scripture reflection, personal time reading blogs and social media, prayer and sleep. That probably does not seem like much of a life to most but it is my comfort zone and I like it!

So back to the reading, God asks Ananias to “Get up and go to the street called Straight and ask at the house of Judas for a man from Tarsus named Saul. He is there praying, and in a vision he has seen a man named Ananias come in and lay his hands on him, that he may regain his sight.” Ananias replies, “Lord, I have heard from many sources about this man, what evil things he has done to your holy ones in Jerusalem. And here he has authority from the chief priests to imprison all who call upon your name.”

I feel a little like Ananias when I am out of my comfort zone. I can tell God and others why I should do or not do this or that and I can manipulate situations to avoid change and get back to my comfort zone. Unlike Ananias, who did what the Lord told him, I think too often I choose my way and probably miss out on so many graces for me and for others due to my selfishness to not want to step out in faith. This week, I have stepped out in faith and been very blessed so far. I am not sure that I will not retreat back to my comfort zone or not but I am sure missing reading everyone’s blogs. I will have a lot of catching up to do when I return to my comfort zone. God bless you all!

Mike Burke; Friday, April 15, 2016
Out Of My Comfort Zone

5 thoughts on “Out Of My Comfort Zone

  1. You’re right, Mike. Leaving the nest of comfort is difficult and scary, but really necessary if we are not going to “stand still.” Sometimes God drags me out of my comfort zone kicking and screaming. Starting a blog is a scary venture for me. I wish you luck and lots of growth from your venture. When you get back to blog reading, would love your input on my posts (I’m sure the other bloggers you follow miss you, too)! I’ll value your opinion and comments. God bless.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is completely relatable to me! I am introverted and I have to work extra hard at social situations, and after social situations I like having alone time. I am also working at leaving my comfort zone and it can feel good. I’m glad you are trying, and I really hope you continue to do so. I am learning that being introverted can be a strength and a weakness, the trick is to know when it’s a hindrance. God created us all uniquely, though. So get out there but don’t push yourself beyond the point of recognition (I’ll work on that,too)! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

