A Conversation With Jesus

heart-love

When I read today’s Gospel reading from John 14:1-6 as Jesus was addressing his disciples, it was easy to imagine a personal conversation with my Lord and Savior.

Me: Jesus, I love you and want to follow you every moment of my life. Things are going well but I am anticipating a very big upcoming change in my life that I am not sure I have much control over.

Jesus: Mike, do not let your heart be troubled. You have faith in God; have faith also in me.

Me: Jesus, I have faith in you! I trust you but I do not trust myself. I know I can be unfaithful yet you are always faithful. I say I want to be with you forever but my actions do not always reflect my words of love to you.

Jesus: Mike, in my Father’s house there are many dwelling places. If there were not, would I have told you that I am going to prepare a place for you?

Me: No, I know Lord that your words are true and you have the words of eternal life. It’s just that…

Jesus: And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back again and take you to myself, so that where I am you also may be. Where I am going you know the way. Do not let your heart be troubled.

Me: Jesus, I know you are the way. I want to follow you in my life on earth and be with you, our Father, Mother Mary, Saint Joseph and all of your glorious Saints and Angels in Heaven forever!

Jesus: Mike, I want that for you also. Remember, I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me. And I love you more than you know. Trust in me and trust in my mercy.

Me: I love you Jesus! All praise and glory to you, our Father and the Holy Spirit!

Mike Burke; Friday, April 22, 2016
A Conversation With Jesus

3 thoughts on “A Conversation With Jesus

  1. Very nice post, Mike. It’s important for us to remember that Jesus was not only talking to his followers 2000 years ago, He is also addressing us today. Your post is a great reminder of that! As much as we try to trust, it’s easy to lapse back into fear and anxiety at times. My favorite antidote to that is to read Matthew 6.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

