“I Give You A New Commandment”

love_one_another_

In today’s Gospel from John 13:31-35, Jesus gives us a new commandment. After more than 2000 years, many try, many fail and very few, in my opinion, succeed. This commandment is a daily challenge to be like Jesus. Jesus tells us all that we will know we are his disciples if we follow this commandment. What is this commandment of Jesus?

“Love one another”

We might ask, what does that mean? Love can have many meanings but Jesus adds the instruction for how to love. What is this instruction from Jesus?

“As I have loved you”

And if I ever go through the toughest of times, unbearable challenges or even the day to day frustrations that us children of God bring upon each other, all I need do is to look at the cross. It is the best definition of love I have ever found. Thank you Jesus!

Mike Burke; Sunday, April 24, 2016
“I Give You A New Commandment”

One thought on ““I Give You A New Commandment”

Leave a Reply

